F-6 Marriage Visa in South Korea (Part 1)

Specifically for Americans who marry Korean nationals while in Korea on a tourist visa. But can be applied to foreigners in general.

Required Documents

  • Basic Certificate 기본 증명서
  • Family Certificate 가족관계 증명서
  • Marriage Certificate 혼인관계 증명서
  • Resident Registration 주민등본
  • Proof of Employment 재직 증명서
  • Tax Payment Certificate 납세 증명서
  • Reference Certificate 신원보증서
  • Marriage Invitation 결혼 동거 독적의 초청장
  • Immigration Form 출입국 (사무소에서 다운로드)
  • Translated, Notarized and Authenticated Marriage Certificate 혼인관계증명서 번역공증 *
  • Passport 여권
  • 2 Pictures 3.5 x 4.5 칼라사진
  • Fee 4,500 Yen (if you go to Osaka, Japan)

*Update: I’ve been recently informed that you may not need to get your marriage certificate certified from the US Embassy. Rather, they may just require a letter from the US embassy informally recognizing your marriage. Please call the Osaka Embassy in Japan for more information.

My Situation

I am an American and just got married to my lovely Korean wife while on a 90 day tourist visa in Korea. The process to get legally married is fairly simple and is posted at the US Embassy website. However, attaining the F-6 Visa is a bit more complicated. My wife and I had to contact and consult with various sources until we were able to piece the puzzle together. Our best source was calling the Korean Consulate in Osaka. They outlined all the required documents and assisted us with the process.

Step 1: Get Married.

Getting married is fairly simple. The first document you (the foreigner) need is an Affidavit of Eligibility for Marriage from your Consulate or Embassy. You have to set up an appointment for the US Embassy. It’s a quick process. You simply sign the affidavit and swear an oath and pay $50.00 fee. You can also pay with a debit card. Once you get an Affidavit of Eligibility for Marriage you need to get it translated into Korean.

Affidavit of Eligibility for Marriage

” I, the above named American Citizen, being duly sworn, I depose and say: that I am of marriageable age and the consent of neither parents nor guardian is required, or if required given; that I do not have a disqualifying blood relationship to my intended spouse; that I am not now married, that there is not hindrance, legal or otherwise, to this marriage and that all facts concerning me set forth upon this document are true, correct and complete.”

Next you need to go your local ward office (Gu Cheong;구청) for approval by a Korean government official. The documents and ID needed are:

  • Marriage Form
  • Family Registry
  • Korean Spouses ID
  • Foreign Spouses Passport
  • and of course, the Affidavit of Eligibility for Marriage

Hand everything in to the local ward office. Processing will take 3-5 days and you are required to pick up the Korean marriage certificate (혼인관계증명서).  You are now legally married.

For more information on Marriage of US Citizens Abroad visit Department of State website.

Step 2: Gather documents for F-6 VISA 

For more information on a F-6 VISA check out this website.

The entire process will take a month, if you are diligent. I will categorize each document, starting with the most time consuming to the least time consuming documents.

  • Translated, Notarized and Authenticated Marriage Certificate 혼인관계증명서 번역공증 (*Check update above)

With your newly acquired Marriage Certificate (혼인관계 증명서) you need to get it translated, notarized and authenticated by the US Embassy.

The Korean marriage certificate must be translated and notarized from a local notary that is recognized by the US Embassy of Seoul. The list of local notary offices can be located here. Make sure you use one of the listed notaries, or else the US Embassy will not authenticate the notarized marriage certificate.

Simply make an appointment. The fee should be around 35,000 won and should only take about 15-30 minutes depending on how busy they are. With the marriage certificate translated and notarized, make another appointment at the US Embassy. Have them authenticate the marriage certificate or you can go to the MOFAT office located near the US Embassy. They will simply have you sign an affidavit and swear an oath. The fee is $50.00. Now you have a translated, notarized and authenticated marriage certificate.

  • Basic Certificate 기본 증명서 / Family Certificate 가족관계 증명서 / Resident Registration 주민등본

The basic certificate, family certificate and resident registration can be collected at the Dong Office 동사무소 or district office 구청.

  • Tax Payment Certificate 납세 증명서

You can get the tax payment certificate from the tax office 세무소

  • Proof of Employment 재직 증명서 / Reference Certificate 신원보증서 / Marriage Invitation 결혼 동거 독적의 초청장 / Immigration Form 출입국 (사무소에서 다운로드)

The rest of the required documents need to be downloaded and filled out from the Korean Immigration Service Website.

DIRECTIONS: Drag your mouse over the button 전자민원, a drop down menu will appear, click the farthest right button, 민원서식, which will take you to page full of downloadable documents. (Microsoft Explorer works best)

Step 3: Confirm you have all the documents and identification

Before making plans to leave the country, I would recommend you calling the embassy/consulate you are going to and make sure you have all the documents prepared and ready. As mentioned above, I went to the Korean Consulate in Osaka Japan. But, if you want,  you can go back to the states

Step 4: Leave the country

If you were married in South Korea while on a 90 tourist visa, you must leave the country to get an F-6 visa. You do not need your Korean spouse to be present with you at the foreign embassy. If you have  a E-2 visa or F-2 visa, you can submit your documents within Korea without leaving the country and simply receive an upgraded F-6 visa status. For more information regarded the latter situation, with an E-2 or F-2 visa, visit this website blog.

Part 1Part 2

Otherwise, bon voyage and good luck.

For those who are interested, I posted another blog of my visit to Osaka, Japan.

24 thoughts on “F-6 Marriage Visa in South Korea (Part 1)

    • You have to continually get your F-6 renewed yearly. Eventually, you may want to upgrade to and F-5 Permanent Visa, where in which you do not have to renew.

  1. Yours is about the most helpful and thorough blog post I’ve read on this topic, but I have a few questions. I read somewhere that you couldn’t get married on a tourist visa, but you had no trouble? Do you know how many copies of the Affidavit of Eligibility for Marriage you needed? Different sites I see say anywhere from 2-4 for women (I have no idea why I would need four.) Did you have the Affidavit professionally translated to Korean to get officially married? One blog I read said that they just did it on white paper there in the office. Also, did you have more than one Marriage Certificate? Can you just ask for multiple copies? As for the other certificates for immigration- I read elsewhere that you need to prove you live together (was that one the certificates required?). If you were here on a tourist visa, how did you prove that? Thanks in advance for any of these questions you can answer!

    • Sorry for the late reply. If you still need them, here are the answers to your questions.

      I read somewhere that you couldn’t get married on a tourist visa.

      You can get married regardless of your visa status, you just can’t legally stay in the country unless you obtain the proper visa.

      Do you know how many copies of the Affidavit of Eligibility for Marriage you needed?

      I only had two copies, one for myself and one to give the office. They didn’t require me to have multiple copies, but I would highly recommend having a copy of each document for yourself.

      Did you have the Affidavit professionally translated to Korean to get officially married?

      No, we did not get the Affidavit professional translated. My wife simply translated the letter herself. We had no problems. However, your marriage certificate is another story. You will have to go to a sponsored law office to get it translated and certified.

      Also, did you have more than one Marriage Certificate? Can you just ask for multiple copies?

      We only received the original copy of the Marriage Certificate. You can ask the law office to make you a copy, however, we just copied it ourselves.

      As for the other certificates for immigration- I read elsewhere that you need to prove you live together (was that one the certificates required?). If you were here on a tourist visa, how did you prove that?

      You don’t necessarily need to prove you live together. However, you do need to provide an address of residence, whether it be your own or your spouses. However it may be different if your a female, but in our case they never inquired us for a certificate.

      I hope it helps and again I’m sorry about the tardiness. Good luck. ^^

  2. Hi Mitzsato,

    Thanks for all the great details! Was just curious why you didn’t get the F6 visa in Korea? I recently married a Korean and have not changed my visa yet, but am planning to do so soon. Would it be easier to just head over to Japan to do it rather than going to immigration in Korea?

    Happy holidays!

    • Hi Mrs. Kim,

      Why did I have to leave Korea? Well it depends on your current Visa status in Korea. At that time, I was on a 90-Day Tourist Visa. They require individuals without a long-term visa status to leave the country, get the required visa and return to South Korea. If you are a current F-2 or E-2 visa you are able to submit all the paper work within Korea and receive the upgraded F-6 visa.

  3. Hi Mitzsato~^^ First I would just like to thank you for posting such valuable information. I plan on making a trip to Osaka to get my F-6 visa. Was there any need to provide ‘bank statements’ or a requirement to have a certain amount of money in the ‘Korean National’s’ account?. In this case, it would be my future wife. There are so many blogs posting about a requirement of a certain amount of cash in the Korean’s account. Did you have to prove any of this information?

    • Hi Jason. I cannot speak for other individuals, but for my situation, my wife did not need to have a certain amount of money in her bank. They also never requested to see any of her bank records. She did, however, need to prove she paid taxes, which is one of the required documents. I hope it helps. Good luck.

  4. Hi Mitzsato! Thank you for your response. I have one more quick question. Did your wife have to submit a copy of a rental agreement/deed for a house/apt under her name, or just a document that proves where she lives? Sorry, to keep hassling you like this. I am just trying to get all the facts straight. I really appreciate your help by the way. Thank you so much.

  5. Good evening Mitzsato!
    Thank you so much for posting all these information and congratulations to your marriage^^
    It has been really helpful as I am about to make the same process to apply for the F6 visa.
    I am just wondering about the other documents such as the reference certificate, marriage invitation, immigration form where you said we can find in the korean immigration website, where did you actually download them? I can’t seem to find them on the website 😦

    • Go to the Korea Immigration Website. Go over the 전자민원 button with your mouse in the horizontal navigation bar. A drop down menu will appear, go to the farthest right and click 민원서식. It will send you to a page full of downloadable documents. You will find what you’re looking for there.

  6. Jesus, thank you for such clear and easy to read instructions. I’m in the exact same situation as you.

    I just spoke to Immigration (1345) and the gal told me I have to go back the US to get this done? Not Japan.

    Have I been misinformed? I’d love to go to Japan, since its quick and cheaper.

    • When I was inquiring about the subject, I received multiple answers from various sources. So you can’t always trust one source, well, at least in South Korea. I’m not the final word on this subject, but I went to Japan and others who read this blog, did the same thing and were able to receive their F-6 visas. As you mentioned, it’s a lot cheaper and honestly more fun. If you really want to make sure, I would recommend you calling the US Consulate in Osaka, Japan (look at the blog for info). They were the most reliable source.

      • Thanks Mitzsato,

        You also mentioned that processing in Osaka can take 2-4 days. Does this mean I have to plan to stay in Osaka for that amount of time, or can I return back to Korea in a day?

  7. Hey!
    We are in the same situation as you, Mitzsato, and we’re following the exact guideline as you’ve posted. So far, we’re at this section:

    ” Proof of Employment 재직 증명서 / Reference Certificate 신원보증서 / Marriage Invitation 결혼 동거 독적의 초청장 / Immigration Form 출입국 (사무소에서 다운로드)

    The rest of the required documents need to be downloaded and filled out from the Korean Immigration Service Website”

    On the Korean Immigration Service Website, do i just download the 3 documents given under the Interracial Marriage (Kook-jae-kyul-hon An-nae) section? Or what do I need?

    • It took us about a month and a few days. Mainly it was due to the fact that the F-6 VISA was just implemented and the Korean Government didn’t post any details and we received multiple answer which made it confusing. Even now, I think there still isn’t much information out there. As a result, we had to figure things out for ourselves.

  8. I love all the questions and answers. My name is Jason, I already have my “Affidavit of Eligibility for Marriage” cert . It is not translated yet. I will have my fiance/pastor translate it themselves. I am not married yet and just returned from Japan to start another 90days in Korea.
    * My main Question is , “How long does all this actually take? I planned to get married near then end of my 90days, like 80th day get married then apply for F6visa{how many days it takes} then you guys say 2-4 days in Japan, Can I do it all in 10days before my VISA expires. Or should I get married SOONER to give myself 30days to prepare for F6visa. ??
    ***
    I came back from Japan to korea 2 weeks ago, So i have some time(75days) . I wanted to Marry Weekend of August 2nd , then leave August 11th ? I checked the locations of notorizing, I know how to drive places, So can i do it all in 10days? Above it says Marriage Certificate 3-5 days , translations and notarizing could be done in 1-2days? No ? Final Japan Kor Emb Osaka 2-4 days. So should I get married sooner or it can be done in 10 days?

    • 헐 …. you answered the next question before mine? I guess its ok , because when i told my fiance it might take 10days or longer , she told me we can just get our marriage certificate before we marry and have the wedding Ceremony in August. So because my fiance is korean and very cool , I will have more then enough time to apply for F6 visa. thanks.

    • Sorry about the late reply. These days, I often don’t check this blog.

      To answer your question, the more time you give yourself the better. The longest time you will have to wait is for your marriage certificate. After you submit all your documents to the office, it will take around 7-10 days to receive. After you get your marriage certificate the whole process to gather all your documents and get all the necessary approvals will take about a week, if you are diligent. I would allow yourself more time than 10 days to get everything done, but how much time you give yourself is up to you. Remember, even if your VISA expires before you leave the country, mostly likely you will just have to pay a fine (at least that’s what I have been told).

  9. Hi! We got married in korea but not in my wifes country of origin. Did the embassy ask you for a marriage certificate from your country and a police background check?

    • My answer may not be applicable to your situation because my wife is Korean and we got married in Korea. Nevertheless, we did not need to provide a police background check and the marriage of certification they required was a translated and authenticated version of our Korean marriage certificate we got in Korea. If both of you are not Korean, you may not qualify for a F-6 Visa. You may want to check with your embassy.

      • I am Korean, but the korean embassy in osaka asked for the police background check and the marriage certificate from my wifes country of origin.

Leave a comment